Though personal observations and opinions prevail, a blog can be anything one wants it to be. There is no rule against shameless commerce. Anyone who isn’t interested can simply ignore what’s written, right?

This Sunday 5/31 is the ULTIMATE TAG SALE! After 48 years, my mother-in-law in Bethpage LI has sold her house and is moving to a smaller place nearby.

For starters, there are LOTS of tools. Her late partner Dick was an incredible wood craftsman who loved household projects. I thought my old man had an incredible collection of saws, hammers, wrenches, hardware and supplies, plus a lot of wood. But really, what he had was nothing compared to what Dick acquired over the years. There’s something for everyone if you can get out to LI this coming Sunday.

Tools

He also loved cars, particularly Studebakers. There are models from the Danbury Mint and a collection of trade magazines from the 1930s. There also furniture for sale (a mid-century modern dining table in great shape), house wares, and all kinds of media: unopened 8-track tapes, baseball cards, books, collectible magazines, radios, a portable TV, picture frames and 78 rpm records. There’s also some awesome 33 and 45 vinyl that my brother-in-law loved — Journey, U2 (including imports), Van Halen, etc.

My mother-in-law also has a 1985 Peugeot P6 10-speed bike for sale. I’ve been using it as a commuter for three years, and now we need the room for other stuff.

P1120118P1120122

Many of the parts are original but I have updated the brake cables, new gumwall 27 X 1 1/4 tires, tuned it up and kept it in shape w/the help of my top-notch mechanic, Mike Rodriguez of Bike Station in Fort Greene, Brooklyn. Yes, it has a Sachs/Huret derailleur!

This Gallic beauty wears France’s blue racing colors. it weighs 28 lbs. and will never win the Tour de France. What it will do is provide a reliable, solid and phenomenal ride over NYC streets. This is a great workhorse for anyone from 5’4’ to 5’10”.

It’s $200 or best offer. I’ll negotiate, and I’m a lot cheaper than those stores and pop-ups at street fairs that sell similar retro-bikes for $3o0 and up. Please contact me for a ride appointment. And yes, within limits I will come to you.

